Healthy & Active in East Northamptonshire

Turn Up & Play

What is Turn Up & Play?

Sporting and crafting activities for children all over the district, aged between 8-13 years. No need to book, just turn up and play!

When, where and what time do the Turn Up & Play sessions take place?

Turn Up & Play takes place from Monday 5 August - Friday 23 August - week days only.

Thrapston – Peace Park, Market Rd, Thrapston | Mon 5 Aug, Mon 12 Aug and Mon 19 Aug between 10am-12noon

Nassington – The Rec, Fotheringhay Road, Nassington | Tue 6 Aug, Tue 13 Aug and Tue 20 Aug between 1.30-3.30pm

Warmington – Warmington Fun Field, Buntings Lane, Warmington | Tue 6 Aug, Tue 13 Aug and Tue 20 Aug between 10am-12noon

Ringstead – Ringstead Playground, Church St, Ringstead | Mon 5 Aug, Mon 12 Aug and Mon 19 Aug between 1.30-3.30pm

Oundle – The Rec, New Road, Oundle | Thu 8 Aug, Thu 15 Aug and Thu 22 Aug between 1.30-3.30pm

King’s Cliffe – KC Active, Station Rd, Kings Cliffe | Fri 9 Aug, Fri 16 Aug and Fri 23 Aug between 10am-12noon - Xplorer Fri 16 Aug 2-4pm

Easton-on-the-Hill – The School, New Rd, Easton On The Hill | Thu 8 Aug, Thu 15 Aug and Thu 22 Aug between 10am-12noon

Higham Ferrers – The MUGA, Saffron Rd, Higham Ferrers | Wed 7 Aug, Wed 14 Aug and Wed 21 Aug between 10am-12noon

Islip – The Rec, High St, Islip  | Wed 7 Aug, Wed 14 Aug and Wed 21 Aug between 1.30-3.30pm

Irthlingborough for Xplorer – Central Rec, Scarborough St, Irthlingborough | Fri 23 Aug between 2pm - 4pm

How much is each session?

The session will cost £2 cash per child, which will need to be paid on arrival at each location.

How long is each session?

Each session will be 2 hours long.

What will my child(ren) be doing?

Sessions will cover a variety of activities including sports, fun games, arts and crafts.

Can I leave my child and go elsewhere for the 2hrs?

For a Turn Up & Play session, parents and carers will need to leave contact details, but children can be left for the session.  For Xplorer sessions, children will need to be supervised by a parent or carer for the duration of the session.

Who will be looking after my child?

All staff leading the sessions will be DBS checked and hold a Level 2 sports coach or relevant art and craft experience.

Do I need to complete any forms?

Each parent/carer (over 18 years) will have to complete a participation form on arrival.

What happens if it starts raining?

Sessions may be cancelled due to adverse weather conditions. Any notifications for this will be communicated through social media and our email database.

Do we need to leave food or drink for the session?

All participants will be advised to bring their own drinks, hats and sun cream to each session.