Go to the new North Northamptonshire Council website

Parish Review

Legal Order gives effect to changes to parish arrangements in East Northamptonshire

East Northamptonshire Council has just completed a year-long review of parish arrangements in the district. At the Council meeting on 23 April, Members agreed a number of changes to the external boundaries of 10 parishes, as well as changes to the way two parish councils are set up and changes to the internal boundaries for two parishes which also affects the district wards in those areas. This followed a period of consultation on draft recommendations which were developed by officers and agreed by Members at the Council meeting in October. Most of the changes were suggested by parish or town councils during the first stage of consultation between May and August 2013.

To make the changes happen, the Council has to draw up a legal document called an Order, which can be viewed below, along with other key documents.

Maps showing boundary changes

 Warmington and Lutton - Map 1

 Raunds and Ringstead - Map 2
 Irthlingborough, Stanwick and Higham Ferrers - Map 3
 Stanwick, Chelveston and Higham Ferrers - Map 4
 Thrapston and Islip -Map 5
 Higham Ferrers Chichele and Lancaster - Map 6
 Rushden Pemberton and Sartoris - Map 7a
 Rushden Hayden and Bates - Map 7b

The Order, Schedule, maps and Notice are also available to view at our offices in Thrapston, Rushden and Oundle.

The changes will come into effect on 15 October 2014, but for practical purposes the first time things will change will be at the local elections in May 2015. The Council will now ask the Local Government Boundary Commission for England to make the corresponding changes to the district ward and county electoral division boundaries where necessary.

You can find out more information about how the parish review has been conducted and read comments that were made during both periods of consultation by clicking on the links below.

More information

  1. Legal Order gives effect to changes to parish arrangements in East Northamptonshire (you are here)
  2. Stage 3 - Submissions received
  3. Stage 1 - Public consultation